A major refurbishment is planned at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, part of a wider £100million investment.
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel will see an internal refurbishment of its ground floor lobby, restaurant and public areas as well as the bedrooms on floors one to three.
Mercure took occupation of the property in 2015 and renamed it Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel but the building itself does boast a colourful past.
Opened in 1869, the building was originally called the White Lion before it was renamed as the Grand Hotel in 1874. It is regarded as one of Bristol's finest hotels with notable former guests including Winston Churchill, The Beatles, Cary Grant and Leslie Howard.
During World War II it was used as accommodation for agents, politicians, royalty and celebrities and acted as a connection point between London and Bristol Airport. The hotel was awarded Grade II-listed status in 1966.
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel has 182 bedrooms plus eleven meeting and events rooms with the largest – the Wessex Suite – accommodating up to 600 delegates theatre style. Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel is a short walk from Bristol Temple Meads Station.